If We Were Me

If we were me, we would cut our toenails

as needed

and not a week later.

This is common courtesy.

We would prize efficiency above fury.

If we were me, we would carry old hearts,

soft, inside ourselves– ancestors, mentors–

memorial reminders.

If we were me, humor would be darker, more sarcastic,

and there would be more head shaking.

Hyperbolic enthusiasm for that which is standard would be considered poor manners.

Reluctance would win over revelation, for the protection of the innocent.

There would be much less talking and much more writing.

If we were me,”okay” would be said too often.

Nothing would be said, also too often.

If we were me, we would wish to fight our battles for justice soberly,

in ways that honor our dignity and the dignity of our neighbors.

If we were me, about half of our collective thoughts would be critical of

society, individuals, justice, or home decor.

If we were me, we would truly want to be

the adults that we promised ourselves we’d be as kids,

and try to make that kid’s vision real.

If we were me, our cars would all be full of dog hair.

Peanut butter would sell out.

If we were me, we would move our shopping carts

to the side of the aisle and notice each other

when we’re trying to get to the yogurt cooler.

If we were me, the other half of our thoughts

would center around our mortality, ethics, and spirituality,

though those thoughts would often stay in that realm, not reality.

If we were me, we would wonder about our lives in parallel dimensions,

whether they exist, and decide to be glad of living in this one.

If we were me, we would avoid ending this entry,

and in so doing, avoid going to the gym.

 

2016-04-11 17.23.49

 

#ifwewereme

 

 

9 thoughts on “If We Were Me

Leave a Reply

